Ericofon – The Telephone of the Future – 1950’s – 1960’s

June 24, 2009

I love this amazing telephone.

ericofon2

ericofon_pubblicita2

ericofon334046496_c9e6d42580

ericofon432px-Ericofon_1956_2

ericofon6a00d09e7bc293be2b00f48cf551b40002-320pi

ericofonb0029

ericofongreen-ericofon-base

An early Ericofon prototype (Image: Ericofon.com)

An early Ericofon prototype (Image: Ericofon.com)

The Ericofon may have been the inspiration for the Telephone that was used by #2 in the British Spy classic “The Prisoner”

#2 on the red telephone that may have been inspired by the Ericofon.

#2 on the red telephone that may have been inspired by the Ericofon.

5 Responses to “Ericofon – The Telephone of the Future – 1950’s – 1960’s”

  1. I have a red Ericofon — did I tell you about that? The guy who runs Ericofon.com is based in Minnesota. He’s got some amazing old phones.

  2. Harry-

    I’m jealous! I’ve been looking for one! They go for more than I’d like to spend on ebay…is yours original?

    I.A.

  3. Ron said

    Great ericofon’s there yours? Superrrrr
    Ron

  4. […] El teléfono se diseñó a finales de 1940 por parte de un grupo de trabajo de Ericson, en Suecia, pero la producción en serie no arrancó hasta el año 1954. Por cierto, los suecos le llamaron el “teléfono cobra” y ha sido inspiración en una peli de espías. […]

  5. sqnewton said

    I always like that phone (never had one) and recently I decided to make it come back again🙂 This time making it work with cell phones. I called it “Bluetooth Ericofon” or BT Ericofon. Adding some special electronics that I designed, it allows you to make phone calls using its rotary dial, receive calls, use voice recognition to make phone calls, redial, inward dial (converting rotary to DTMF) and more. You can see more in my link below.

    I think hat you would found interesting mentioning this phone in your website to share with other Ericofon fans.

    http://www.sqnewton.com

    Santiago

Leave a Reply

