Tie – pography!

May 6, 2009

Tie-pography by David Hart using ties from our Fall 2009 collection and Spring 2009

Tie-pography by David Hart inspired by Ed National using David Hart & Co. ties from our Fall 2009 and Spring 2009 collections

My buddy Julian Hector sent me a link to Ed Nacional’s “Tie-pography” which has been getting a lot of buzz lately in the graphic design field.   I think that this is really neat.  Check it out below:

ties2
ties3

The more I looked at this, I remembered seeing it somewhere before. I finally remembered that Botany Brand used a similar technique in their old ads.  I started going through my reference library of magazines from the 1940’s and 1950’s and found some examples.   I scanned some of them in below:

botany

botany1

botany2

botany3

For any of the David Hart & Co. ties pictured in the still life above, please visit Bergdorf Goodman or our website.  The new Fall styles will be available in late August.

Leave a Reply

